LibGuides: Writing and Copyright Resources : Writing & Copyright Home

ChatGPT is the newest AI tool. Get a librarian's perspective on its research capabilities.

Citation Tools

Commonly-used citation management tools include Endnote, Mendeley and Zotero. Library Services does not directly endorse any of these but we have some experience with Zotero. More information about Zotero is listed below.

*EndNote and Mendeley are not supported by IS.

Criteria	Zotero	Mendeley	Endnote basic
Must be online?	No	No	Yes
Web-based?	Can sync with online account; connectors for Firefox, Chrome and Safari and Opera available	Not primarily, but can sync with an online account which is editable	Fully-cloud based so you can access it from any device.
Cost	Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space	Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space	Free 30 day trail, than must purchase
Create group or shared libraries	Zotero allows you to share your citations through shared folders -- you can give individuals or groups permissions to add and edit the citations in the shared folder	Mendeley allows you to share citations and documents with a group of up to 2 other users, or create a public reading list that is open to all.	EndNote Basic allows you to share with up to 1,000 other users.
Word-processor compatibility	MS Word, Open Office, Google Docs	MS Word, Open Office, LaTex	MS Word
Storage capacity	Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 100MB free Zotero file syncing (larger syncing plans available for purchase); or can use WebDav	Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 1GB personal and 100MB shared online space (larger online storage plans available for purchase)	Limited to 50,000 citations and 2 GB of attachment storage
Import from databases	Yes	Yes	Yes
Import citation info from web pages	Yes, also archives the page and you can add annotations	Yes, with a bookmark for a limited number of sites (mostly publishers or databases)	Yes, with Reference Capture tool
Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.)	Yes, with option to attach automatically	Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs	Yes
Search full text of PDFs	Yes	Yes	No
Create group or shared libraries	Yes	Yes, free for up to 3 group members (larger group plans available for purchase)	Yes
Create bibliography with different styles	Yes	Yes	Choose from 7,000 + styles if accessed via Web of Science.
Automatic citation extraction from PDFs	Yes	Yes	No
Other features	Sync library with multiple computers Use tags to organize/search	Sync library with multiple computers Sync with Zotero library	No

Citing Medicine
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
DOI System Lookup
This is the web site of the International DOI Foundation (IDF), a not-for-profit membership organization that is the governance and management body for the federation of Registration Agencies providing Digital Object Identifier (DOI) services and registration, and is the registration authority for the ISO standard (ISO 26324) for the DOI system. The DOI system provides a technical and social infrastructure for the registration and use of persistent interoperable identifiers, called DOIs, for use on digital networks.

Zotero

A free, open-source citation management tool with the ability to store author, title, and publication fields, and to export information to formatted references. Zotero is a collaboration between George Mason University and the Corporation for Digital Scholarship, with some U.S. government and foundation funding. Additional storage capacity beyond is available for a fee. Below is a listing of the basic features of Zotero and what you need to do to maximize its use.

Create your main account on the Zotero website: https://www.zotero.org/ . This will allow access to everything.
- If you are on an Allina Health computer and prompted for an administration username and password, you can bypass that, by clicking "no", and completing the download process.
Download the desktop app: https://www.zotero.org/download/ . The desktop app is where you can create your folders, select citations styles for bibliographies, etc. Once you have a bibliography in the desktop app and a Word/Office plug-in you will be able to access your saved articles and insert in-text citations as well as a bibliography in your selected citation style. You can also simply copy and paste the bibliography into a document.
Zotero Connector: https://www.zotero.org/download/connectors . These allow one-click uploading of citations and articles from PubMed and many other sites/databases. Connectors work in Edge, Chrome, Firefox and Safari (NOT in Internet Explorer).
Zotero Word plugin: https://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_plugin_installation . This will allow you to create in-text citations and insert a bibliography at the end of a document
Zotero mobile apps: https://www.zotero.org/support/mobile
For more information – Zotero tutorials: https://www.zotero.org/support/screencast_tutorials
- especially the University of Ottawa Libraries video: https://uottawa.libguides.com/c.php?g=699879&p=4969298

Copyright Information

Allina Health Fair Use Checklist
Viewing this document will require authenticating to the AKN.
Allina's system-wide policy on use of copyright protected materials
Viewing this document will require authenticating to the AKN.
Fair use guide Stanford
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Open Educational Resources (OER)
Copyright Clearance Center
CCC helps organizations integrate, access, and share information through licensing, content, software, and professional services
Creative Commons
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that helps overcome legal obstacles to the sharing of knowledge and creativity to address the world’s pressing challenges.
U.S. Copyright Office
The U.S. Copyright Office promotes creativity and free expression by administering the nation’s copyright laws and by providing impartial, expert advice on copyright law and policy for the benefit of all.

Medical Dictionaries

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719642859
Publication Date: 2021-02-17
Includes medical acronyms and abbreviations.
Medical Dictionary by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Created by); Thomas Lathrop Stedman
ISBN: 9780781733908
Publication Date: 2016
Medical Spanish, Fourth Edition by Gail L. Bongiovanni
ISBN: 9780071442008
Publication Date: 2005-05-27

Style Manuals

APA Style
APA Style is used by writers in many disciplines around the world for concise, powerful, and persuasive scholarly communication.
Council of Science Editors (CSE) scientific style and format citation quick guide
Now in its eighth edition, the indispensable reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields has been fully revised by the Council of Science Editors to reflect today’s best practices in scientific publishing.
Purdue Online Writing Lab
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.

AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by Oxford University Press USA - OSO
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780190246556
Publication Date: 2020-03-02

White Papers

A white paper is a research based report that offers insight into a complex topic and offers a position on the solution for the problem.