Summer Leadership Reading
Welcome to Summer! With the sun shining from early morning until late at night, you might find yourself looking for something to read. These long days can mean more time for a new novel from your public library (see the April issue for more info), or perhaps you’d like to use this time for personal development such as building your leadership skills. We’ve got just the thing for you! Starting in May, Library Services began to curate a Leadership in the Literature list of recent leadership and management articles that will appear monthly in the Management Minute (sent to all Allina supervisors or higher). Even if you do not receive the Management Minute, you can access them right from our website on the Leadership Resources subject guide. For May, we had articles on everything from being an inclusive leader to getting past burnout to supporting a culture of care. Check back mid-June for a new list of articles.
Curated Content Collections: Library Subject Guides
What does a library within a library look like? Check out the Library’s Subject Guides accessible from the top navigation of the Library web page.
The latest Guide to be added is Cardiology, but there are Guides on Health Data & Statistics, Leadership, Nursing, and much more. Each Guide highlights and provides links to the library content, ebooks, ejournals, documents, guidelines, websites, and videos that relate to the subject topic. Keep an eye on the list because the librarians are adding new ones on a regular basis. We also welcome suggestions for your favorite Guide.
Pride Month Resources
Library Services wishes you a happy Pride Month! Please check out the LGBTQIA2S+ and Transgender healthcare pages of our Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging subject guide. These pages feature our collection of LGBTQIA2S+ eBook titles, as well as links further reading to authoritative sources on LGBTQIA2S+ healthcare, professional society guidelines , and videos. If you are interested in learning more about LGBTQIA2S+ Healthcare and earning free CMEs at the same time, check out the National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center. There are also many ways to celebrate Pride locally, there are curated lists of fiction and non-fiction titles from Hennepin County Library, Quatrefoil Library in South Minneapolis, and don’t forget TCPride.
June is here and so is a new Library Update! This month's edition includes an exciting new addition to our team, brand new resources for you to access, and one of the many things Library Services has been up to.
Meet Rachel Fields, Library Services’ Newest Knowledge Specialist
0.7 minute read time
Rachel Fields joined the Library Services team this May, taking over for Pamela Barnard who retired earlier this year.
Rachel joins us after 10 years at the Amherst H. Wilder Foundation as a research librarian. She received her Master of Library and Information Sciences (MLIS) from St. Catherine University.
Rachel describes herself as an “avid reader” and is on track to meet her goal of reading 60 books this year. When she doesn’t have her nose in a book, or her eyes on Browzine, she enjoys spending time with her family, hunting for treasures at antique malls and thrift stores, and getting outdoors.
Her final word of advice is: “When in doubt, ask a librarian!”
Welcome to the team, Rachel!
New eResources!
0.7 minute read time
Summer is here and brought us a plethora of new eResources.
First up we have the new version of Hale’s Medication and Mother’s Milk. This title has gone through some exciting changes as it is now its own website database instead of an eBook. It offers an easier to use searching experience and updated drug list including:
We have also added the Sports Nutrition Care Manual to our collection. This manual focuses on nutrition for the athletic patient of any age and includes
We also have added new eBooks to our collection, including:
Check out all of our 30 new ebooks.
Library Services Gives Back with Opens Arms
0.5 minute read time
Last month, Allina Health’s Library Services, Patient Education, Learning and Development, and Nursing Informatics teams joined forces to pack meals for Open Arms.
Together, we:
Open Arms “prepares and delivers nourishing meals to critically ill Minnesotans and their families in need – 100% free of charge.”.
Learn more:
Learn about how Allina Health Library Services can make your work easier. Visit our Library Services webpage or email us at Library@allina.com.
Commenting on blog posts requires an account.
Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.
If you do not have an account, Register Now.